Simple Beach Yoga Warm Up

Standard

Simple Beach Morning Yoga Warm Up

jyl-logoDear Friends,

It’s funny to think a month ago this weekend I was caressing the beautiful tropical waters of my favorite beach with one of my besties in the world Ft. Zachary Taylor Park in Key West. I wanted to give you the soothing sounds from that magical place so I made a simple warm up for you to follow at home for your mornings.

As a travel agent and writer I’ve traveled to a lot of places Europe,Central and South America, most of the Caribbean more than once and out of all of that travel my absolute favorite place in the world is to be at Fort Zachary Taylor State Park in Key West, Florida in that water. This park is not really known to tourists with the exception of the smart ones and it is over by the Naval base and is kept fantastically clean as State Parks in Florida go.

Not only do you have the turquoise warm and sometimes almost clear waters of the Atlantic combined with the Gulf you are at the tip of the Southern most point you can go without setting sail to Cuba!

I have so many fond memories there. I would ride my bike from my house on Petronia Street in the Meadows over to the park every day after work and watch my husband snorkel off to the rocks to feed the waiting fish the year that we lived there. I have spent afternoons just reading and writing and listening to dynamite tunes on that beach. I have shared many a fun and sometimes serious conversations with my dear friends on that sand. I’ve sat there and watched the large cruise ships, yachts and sail boats come and go daily seemingly close enough to climb aboard. I have kicked back a few cold ones too over the years and thanked my lucky stars I found this hidden treasure which for me became home.

In 2011 my son was able to come down for part of the summer and I watched him as a teenager having fun at the beach. I’ve seen weddings performed there small and so large where they rented out the entire side of the beach with live bands playing. I’ve heard many a foreign voice talking in groups in the water usually more than one language could be heard in any given corner of the sand or water (those were the smart tourists that figured out where it was instead of drinking it up on Duval all day).

I’ve watched yoga groups gather there first thing in the morning and meditate and exercise in the glory of the beauty that surrounds them. I’ve done many a practice of my own and grown spiritually there sitting there staring off into the ocean beyond the sunshine just being grateful for all of his blessings.

It is so important to warm up prior to any real intense exercise. It is also a great practice that when your muscles are warmed up to stretch out as part of your cool down if doing aerobic exercise of any kind.

The benefits are endless. You will notice your stress level decreasing, your energy increasing as your body thanks you for that 10 minute daily rejuvenation time.

Working on one section of the body at a time will help you to be more flexible in that area but remember what you do on one side repeat on the other.

I am going to say something that is on my mind and I wish no offense to any of my followers but I don’t understand why we have a problem with obesity in this country.

We all know the answers. It is up to the person to have enough self confidence and love for him/herself to want to try and seek medical advise and get on a greater path to changing their lives.

As for our kids we just have to raise them to be active, eat right and get the right amount of sleep. Parents, if that means taking away the electronics and privileges , then do it.

I just know that some of the people I come upon or know from my past personally are suffering with weight issues and I just want to tell them I too had problems maybe not weight but health and I had to make that choice 19 years ago of who I was going to be.

To my friends hear me now, #1 “You are worth it” , #2 “You can change your life”, and mostly please know that “You are loved”.

I hope that my encouragement makes them realize what I know to be true, they can change who they want to be, it’s never too late, it’s all a matter of the heart.

Until Next Time Namaste In Good Health,

Kat

 

 

 

 

About Kat Wendorf

Kathleen Wendorf is a certified NESTA sports yoga instructor located in Central Florida. Kathleen has studied Hatha, Vinyasa, Kripalu, Ashtanga, Jivamukti, Yin and Kundalini yoga as well as others. Kathleen is also a writer who has been featured on The Morning Show. She invites you to bookmark and follow her blog jerseyyogalicious.wordpress.com to learn inspirational yoga. You can also visit Amazon to find other books on yoga and travel savings as well as her children's books and fictional novels. www.amazon.com/Kathleen-Wendorf/e/B004XM1G4A . Kathleen also has 2 awesome retail websites you will want to check out: https://www.DiscountDollhouse.com https://www.ExoticCustomCanvas.com Kathleen has a mission to share as much as she can with her yoga friends. Please feel free to reach out to her at any time for any comments or questions.

Leave a Reply

